Top 10 Richest People In Guyana in 2020 & Their Houses; Checkout who has the biggest house

5. Donald Ramotar

Donald Rabindranauth Ramotar (born 22 October 1950[1]) is a Guyanese politician who was President of Guyana from 2011 to 2015. He was also the General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) from 1997 to 2013.

Ramotar joined the PPP in 1967 and was first elected to the PPP Central Committee in 1979; he joined the PPP Executive Committee in 1983. He received a certificate from the Government Technical Institute (GTI) in welding. From 1988 to 1993, he was International Secretary of the Guyana Agricultural Workers’ Union. In the 1992 election, in which the PPP under Cheddi Jagan won power for first time in decades, Ramotar was elected to the National Assembly of Guyana; he was continuously re-elected thereafter.

He was designated as the PPP’s Executive Secretary in 1993.[2] Following Jagan’s death in March 1997, Ramotar was unanimously elected to succeed him as the PPP’s General Secretary on March 29, 1997.[3]

At the PPP’s 29th Congress, he was re-elected to its Central Committee on August 2, 2008, receiving the fourth-highest number of votes (637).[4][5] Following the Congress, he was re-elected by the Central Committee as General Secretary on August 12, 2008, without opposition;[5][6] he was also elected to the editorial board of the PPP paper Thunder on this occasion.

6 of 10